A Writer’s Letter to Santa

cherub2

Dear Santa,

I’ve been a good girl this year.  All right, “girl” may be a bit of a stretch, and “good” may not be 100% true, but I don’t recall “good” being a previously defined term.  Seems to me there might be some flexibility in there.  Don’t you think?

Perhaps I should rephrase?  I’ve been semi-good.  Partially good?  Theoretically?  Spiritually?  Well intended?  Is goodness really the end-all?  Seems a little overrated, like vampires and zombies, if you ask me.  One of those “been there, done that” kind of concepts.  Aren’t you tired of reading the same old material?  How about something original?

I sense this pitch isn’t going well.  Let me start over.

Dear Santa,

You look marvelous!  Is that a new suit?  Red is really your color.  And that glorious beard!  Not a cookie crumb in there!  How do you do it?

So, I’ve been a good writer this year.  Wait!  “Good” may not be the right word.  Dedicated?  I’ve dedicated 2 hours every day to writing.  Ok, maybe that’s not true, but I wanted to see if you were paying attention.  How’s this?  I’ve dedicated some time to writing each day, and at least 2 hours every day to goofing off.   Truer.  Anyway, in spite of these shortcomings, I was hoping that you might have some writer gifts on the North Pole for yours truly.

Here’s my wish list:

  1.  I would like every publisher in the universe to love and want to buy all of my books.  If that’s asking too much, how about most of my books?  Some?  What kind of numbers are we talking about here?  Is any of this negotiable?
  2. I would like all of my writer friends to find agents and get publishing contracts.
  3. And I would also like to see an end to poverty, hunger, disease, and I’d like to make a pitch for world peace.  Figure it couldn’t hurt to ask!

Enjoy the milk and cookies!

cookies-and-milk1

Honest!  I didn’t make them. 🙂

Happy holidays, and all the very best in 2014!

Much love, Robin xo

By rnewman504 Tagged

21 comments on “A Writer’s Letter to Santa

    • Jacque, You are so sweet! Thank you! The ride on the sleigh sounds like a lot of fun. Best of luck with your projects as well. p.s. I popped by your website and I LOVE your illustrations. Maybe one day you’ll illustrate one of my books. I’ll add it to my wish list. 🙂

  1. I love your letter, Robin! Ditto on the wish list. It’s a good thing you and I believe in Santa. 🙂 Good things are coming in 2014!

  2. Thanks, Tina! Keeping good thoughts for you! Fingers and toes crossed. All the very best in 2014! Happy, happy holidays! 🙂

  3. Thanks for making me smile, Robin! 🙂 LOVE your Wish List! Makes me think of one of my favorite songs: GROWN-UP CHRISTMAS LIST on David Foster’s “The Christmas Album” sung by Natalie Cole. Just love it. Love Amy Grant’s original version, too 🙂

    P.S. I want a cookie—homemade or not! 😉

      • Here you go, Robin 🙂 And enjoy the season!

        It’s beautiful 🙂 Actually, it’s a bit different than the recording. In this, David sings with her! What a treat 🙂 To me, David Foster is one of the talented composers ever!

      • Glad you enjoyed it, Darlene 🙂 The album is great if you never heard it. The year it was released, they had a 1-hour special with the artists on the album singing. His arrangements are so beautiful. My favorite songs on the album are by Johnny Mathis (on other Xmas albums he’s done), Natalie Cole, Celine Dion and then all of them (maybe 10 or so artists) singing “White Christmas.”

        For anyone who’s interested, I just looked on YouTube and the show’s all there:

        The taping for “White Christmas” is the actual album recording, but a few artists couldn’t make the taping so there are a few spots that they show others lip-syncing their parts (which looks weird, but the song itself is unaltered). If you have time—-enjoy! 😀

Leave a Reply

