Back to School

snoopy-charlie-brown-end-of-summer

Summer’s coming to an end, and writing for my part has been moving at a snail’s pace. At the beginning of August, I was the queen of high hopes: make progress on my YA novel, write 500 picture books, and come up with solutions for world peace and hunger. Okay, maybe the latter three were a bit ambitious, but a girl can dream, right?

So the summer progressed with my sending out one picture book. El numero uno. I suppose one is better than zero. I also started on another picture book and made some progress, “some” being the operative word, on my YA novel. A start. Baby steps.

And speaking of baby steps, my son, who’s no longer a baby, starts second grade next week. Where did the time go?

IMG_6665

How was your summer? Did you accomplish all that you set out to do? Read any amazing books?

I would like to note that unlike myself, the bugs on the North Fork of Long Island have been extremely busy little beavers. I have been bitten by EVERYTHING this summer, and stung by two extremely vindictive bees. The first bee was upset because I stepped on him while going into the pool. The second one, who must have been friends with the first bee, was just pure evil. He staked out a spot in my sneaker.

By rnewman504

21 comments on “Back to School

  1. What a lovely picture of you and your son. I love front porches! Don’t be too hard on yourself for not getting much writing done. Summer tends to be a pretty busy season for doing other things. Now Fall, that’s a great season for writing! 🙂

  2. What a great pic, Robin! LOVE all those porches 😀 😀 😀 You bring back memories, for sure, only the year my son was entering 2nd grade was much different for me. I had become officially disabled, moved back in with my parents (still here) and was heading to Dallas for 6 weeks of diagnosis and treatment. Of course, my son is now turning 29 in two weeks, so that was a looooong time ago! lol Enjoy him while it lasts 😀

    As for summer, my life is in a much different place, so summer isn’t what it once was for me. I have no problem seeing it go! lol I’ve accomplished a few bookish things and am now FINALLY working harder on setting up my blogs, so a bit of productivity here, but not much more than yours, so don’t feel bad 🙂 Glad you had a great summer!

  3. Two bees! Two stings!! Yikes and youch!
    Hope your son second grade year goes wonderfully!
    I never get as much writing done is I think I will. But all in all, I’m pretty pleased.
    I read a ton of picture books and enjoyed them all :•)

  4. I hate bugs, too, and Korea is full of them. Too bad about all your bites! Ya, our kids are growing up. Hope your son enjoys 2nd grade! I hope you have a great Fall of writing!

    • Hey Tina, I’m sorry to hear about the bug situation in Korea. Have your kids started school? I hope they have a great year. And I hope this is an awesome writing year for you!

  5. Bees! GAH! I hate those guys! Progress is progress, a little or a lot. Tortoise, hare, etc. I have definitely slacked off on my August 12×12 story, but my (unfounded) hope is that what I’m doing in Lyrical Language Lab will transfer over and make my story amazing before Sunday…. *gulp*

  6. Ouch! Glad you enjoyed your summer. I think it’s great to do enough to stop you getting rusty but relax enough to rejuvenate 🙂

Leave a Reply

