ALA Chicago Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits

ALAMW15-logo-300

Not even a blizzard and cancelled flights, could dampen the mood at ALA’s Midwinter Conference. And for me, aside from feeling like a kid in a candy store, I had the extra-special treat of finally meeting and spending time with Marissa Moss, my amazing editor and publisher at Creston Books; Deborah Zemke, illustrator extraordinaire, who’s made Wilcox and Griswold more adorable than anything I could have ever imagined; Lori Degman, Darlene Beck-Jacobson, Marsha Goldman, my fellow authors at Creston Books; Lola, the world-renowned, paw-ri-fic, super star of Marsha’s books; and last, but certainly not least, meeting the fantastic, Mr. John Schu.

Here are some photographic highlights from ALA:

IMG_7838

Marissa Moss and me

IMG_783200

Ready to sign my first book!

IMG_7804

Darlene Beck-Jacobson, Marissa Moss, me, Lori Degman

IMG_7807

Mr. Schu and me

IMG_7908

Lori Degman

IMG_7829

Marsha Goldman and Lola

IMG_7918

Mary Skiver and me (Bryn Mawr ’89 in the house!!!)

IMG_7845

IMG_7862

Alessandra Balzer

IMG_7837

Jill Davis and me

IMG_7880

IMG_7926

Jory John, me, Mac Barnett

IMG_7841

Cece Bell and me

Creston was also out in force having a wonderful time visiting Anderson’s Bookshop and The Book Stall at Chestnut Court.

Here’s a clip of Marsha Goldman and Lola at Anderson’s Bookshop. (Lola clearly enjoying meeting her loyal fans!)

Please click link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZDDjlYEUTI&feature=youtu.be

IMG_7902

Marsha Goldman, Lola, Darlene Beck-Jacobson, me, Deborah Zemke, Robert McDonald and Lori Degman at The Book Stall at Chestnut Hill

IMG_7898

Me and Deborah Zemke

Despite the storm, cancelled and rebooked flights, missing luggage, and endless hours of waiting at O’Hare and Charlotte-Douglas Airports, it was a memorable trip. And congratulations to all the award winners.

IMG_7935

Darlene Beck-Jacobson and me at Chicago’s O’Hare

Looking forward to ALA’s Annual Conference in sunny and warm San Francisco.

31 comments on “ALA Chicago Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits

  1. I’ll add my ‘Wow’! With everyone else’s 🙂 cannot imagine all the fun you and excitement you had! Congratulations, Robin, I’m sure there will be many more to come!

  2. Robin, I saw some of these photos on Darlene’s blog, and looking at all these here, I got totally giddy and choked up again. I’m SO happy for you guys! This looks like it was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! And look at all the people you met–I totally want to meet John! lol

    • In a nutshell, it was a blast! It was so great meeting Mr. Schu and absolutely wonderful sharing the experience with Darlene and the Creston crew. Looking forward to ALA in June! 🙂

    • It was great! And here, here for W&G! By the way, on March 7th, Bank Street Bookstore is having their Grand Opening at their new location at 107 and Broadway. They’re going to have 27 authors reading their books, including Rebecca Stead, Tim Federle, etc. I’m going to be reading W&G. Hope you can make it! 🙂 It should be an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

