What’s a Lawyer Doing Writing for Kids? By Robin Newman

Have you ever wondered, “What’s a lawyer doing writing for kids?” If so, please check out my response to this most intriguing question.

Darlene Beck-Jacobson

It gives me great pleasure to feature another one of my author friends who has a debut book releasing this month.  ROBIN NEWMAN’S  Chapter Book, The Case of the Missing Carrot Cake, A Wilcox and Griswold Mystery, is being released by CRESTON BOOKS to starred reviews.   Here’s Robin to tell us about her path to publication:

I’ve often been asked how I ended up writing children’s books, and for that matter, a mystery series. “After all, you’re a lawyer, right?”

It’s a good question. A very good question.

Yes, I am a lawyer. When I was practicing, I was what you would call a “disgruntled lawyer.” That’s disgruntled with a capital D. Not an unfamiliar term to many lawyers.

One day, my mom gave me some good advice.                    

Kids already LOVE the book... Kids already LOVE the book…

 

“Quit,” she said.

“What did you say?” I said. At the time, I was on…

View original post 1,023 more words

By rnewman504

11 comments on “What’s a Lawyer Doing Writing for Kids? By Robin Newman

  1. Interesting post! Your mom is a smart lady! Good thing you listened to her. Love the TRAILER for your story! So great!

  2. When I edited an alumni magazine, I created a regular department called “Take This Job and Love It,” which featured alumni who abandoned traditional career paths to pursue their passions. I am pleased to report that I profiled more than a few ex-lawyers.

    Long story short, good for you, Robin!

    • Thanks, Mike! I’m not surprised you came across a few ex-lawyers. If I hadn’t taken the path that I did, I never would have become a writer. So, all in all, there were benefits to having gone to law school.

Leave a Reply

